arrowBook fun things to do in Croatia!
Croatia Traveller logo

Croatia Borders, Visa, Customs


FOLLOW! Follow on Instagram Pinterest buttonTwitter button Facebook button


Asof 1 January 2023 Croatia is part of the "Schengen" zone. Signatories to the Schengen agreement (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland) have abolished internal border controls. Croatia shares a border with the Schengen countries of Austria, Hungary, Italy and Slovenia which means that travellers crossing into those four countries will face less scrutiny than they did in the past.

Find Accommodation
1,728,000 hotels, apartments, villas +more
Destination/Hotel name
Book now, pay later

Passport/ID Card

Nationals from the following countries may enter Croatia visa-free and stay for 90 days upon presentation of a valid passport:

Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland,Guatemala, Hellenic , Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, State Israel, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Singapore, , Swiss Confederation, Turkey, Eastern Uruguay, United States of America,Venezuela.

Nationals from the following countries may enter Croatia visa-free and stay for 90 days upon presentation of a national ID card or passport:

European Union Member States, States Signatories to the Schengen Agreement, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland, Vatican City State.


Nationals of the following countries must apply for a visa in order to stay for 90 days:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijani Republic, the Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, People's China, Columbia, Union of the Comoros, the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Commonwealth of Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabonese Republic, the Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Democratic People's Korea, State of Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanese Republic, Liberia, Libya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Republic of Maldives, Mali, the Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius,Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique,Myanmar, Namibia, Republic of Nauru, Nepal, the Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, State of Qatar, Rwandese Republic, Russia, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Independent State of Samoa, Democratic Sao Tome and Principe, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia and Montenegro, Republic of Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somali Democratic Republic, South Africa, Democratic Socialist Sri Lanka, the Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Yemen.

For more visa information, see The Ministry of Foreign Affairs


Customs is usually no big deal in Croatia. You wizz through the green line unless you have something to declare. Customs regulations are about the same as in the EU but note the following:

Foreign currency is freely brought in (up to a value of 10,000 euros) and taken out (up to a value of €10,000).

More expensive professional and technical equipment should be registered at the border.

Dogs and cats, accompanied by their owner, need to have an international certificate from a registered veterinarian stating that at least 15 days and not more than six months have passed since their vaccination against rabies.

Duty Free

You can bring into Croatia a certain amount of spirits, wine, tobacco and perfume.(See the exact customs regulations here)

Non-EU citizens without EU residency can get a tax refund for purchases over €100 in value. The merchant should be able to provide you with the paperwork to reclaim your "PDV" (VAT).

There is duty-free shopping at airports and, in limited amounts, aboard international ferries to Croatia.


Yes, Croatia does protect its antiquities. You are not allowed to take certain objects of ethnological, architectural or historical value out of the country and the penalties are severe.


Croatia border sign

Recommended Experiences


Questions? Comments?

Back to Top

©CroatiaTraveller 2005-2024 All rights reserved