Croatian Kuna
arrowFind fun tours & activities in Croatia!

FOLLOW! Follow on Instagram Pinterest buttonTwitter button Facebook button

Croatia Traveller logo

Croatian Kuna

10 lipa coin 1 kuna coin 5 kuna coin
10 lipa 1 kuna 5 kuna



Currency Calculator


The unit of Croatian currency is the Kuna (Kn). Croatian banknotes come in denominations of 1000 (rare) 500, 200, 100, 50, 20, 10 and 5. The kuna is divided into 100 lipa. There are silvery coins of 1, 2 and 5 kunas plus coins of 50, 20 and 10, 2 and 1 lipa. Try to avoid banknotes of 500 as they can be difficult to change.

The exchange rate of the Croatian kuna is fixed and tied to the euro but Croatia is not (yet) in the eurozone. Without getting into the difference between a floating rate and a fixed rate, suffice it to say that this system allows the government to make kunas more expensive in the summer when tourists arrive in order to gain foreign currency.

Find Accommodation
1,728,000 hotels, apartments, villas +more
Destination/Hotel name
Book now, pay later

Hotels, excursions, private accommodation and plane tickets are usually priced in euros and you can pay in either euros or kuna. See more on exchanging money in Croatia.

Related Pages

Money & Costs in Croatia


Using Credit Cards in Croatia


ATMs in Croatia


Travellers Checks in Croatia


More on Money in Croatia


Recommended Experiences

More from Croatia Traveller

My Favorite Travel Accessories

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest Croatia travel updates
and a FREE Language Guide

Language Guide


Questions? Comments?

comments powered by Disqus  

Back to Top

©CroatiaTraveller 2005-2021 All rights reserved