arrowBook fun things to do in Croatia!
Croatia Traveller logo

Dubrovacko-Neretvanska County


FOLLOW! Follow on Instagram Pinterest buttonTwitter button Facebook button

The Dubrovacko-Neretvanska (Dubrovnik-Neretva) County is right on the southern tip of Croatia and contains a disproportionate amount of the country's most interesting sights. The county stretches from Ploce in the north to the Montenegrin border in the south and is backed by the Dinaric mountains which separate it from Bosnia-Hercegovina

Dubrovnik is the queen of the county and administrative centre. To the north lie Korcula, the Elaphiti Islands, Mljet Island, Trsteno, and the Peljesac peninsula. South of Dubrovnik, is the Zupa Dubrovacka or "Dubrovnik Riviera" with the beachside villages of Mlini, Plat and Srebreno. Further south is the tranquil resort of Cavtat and then the Konavle region where local customs are kept alive.

Nearly all the region was once part of the Ragusan Republic of which Dubrovnik (Ragusa) was the capital. (See more on Dubrovnik history). Despite its relative prosperity, the region has always been somewhat disconnected from the rest of Croatia. Access has been limited to flights to Dubrovnik airport and a two-line coastal road. That will soon change as the Zagreb-Rijeka-Split motorway creeps every further south, finally uniting this illustrious region with the rest of Croatia.

Related Pages

Croatian Regions & Counties

Further Resources

Dubrovacko-Neretvanska Tourist Board




Recommended Experiences


Questions? Comments?

Back to Top

©CroatiaTraveller 2005-2024 All rights reserved